Five things to check out at this weekend’s Vancouver Comic Arts Festival!

Check out these great guests at VanCAF 2024, this year’s Vancouver Comic Arts Festival, May 18 & 19 FREE at the Roundhouse.

read more

Flowers of Hell’s Joy Division cover

Promo photo - Flowers of Hell

Flowers of Hell. Muchomurky photo

Music video – Flowers of Hell, ‘Atmosphere’ (Joy Division cover)

The Flowers of Hell has just released the first song/video from their forthcoming album Odes (out on Oct 2 via Optical Sounds and The Orchard). The song is “Atmosphere”, a cover of the classic Joy Division song from 1980.

Odes also features The Flowers of Hell’s interpretations of songs written by Lou Reed, Bob Dylan, Siouxie & The Banshees, Laurie Anderson, Klaatu, Stereolab, Joy Division, Neutral Milk Hotel, Fleetwood Mac, and the Plastic People Of The Universe. The group will launch the album in Toronto on September 21st at Tranzac.

The Flowers of Hell is a trans-atlantic experimental orchestral group featuring approximately 16 musicians from Toronto and London. Odes is the band’s fourth album.

The album includes collaborations with Czech dissident musician Ivo Pospíšil, a key member of The Plastic People Of The Universe’s many offshoot groups, as well asBritish Sea Power’s Neil Wilkinson and Abi Fry (the latter being a founding member of the Flowers Of Hell and a two times Mercury Prize nominee through her past work in BSP and Bat For Lashes).

The animated video for “Atmosphere” animates Joy Division’s Unknown Pleasures album cover, which is an image of the electromagnetic pulses emanating from a dying star in the Vulpecula constellation.

Video – Flowers of Hell, “Atmosphere” (Joy Division cover):

Tracklisting for Odes:

1. On Avery Island-April 1st (Neutral Milk Hotel)

2. Atmosphere (Joy Division)
3. Muchomurky Bile / Destroying Angel (Plastic People Of The Universe)

4. Walk On The Wild Side (Lou Reed)

5. Run Run Run (The Velvet Underground)

6. The Last Beat Of My Heart (Siouxie & The Banshees)

7. Mr. Tambourine Man (Bob Dylan)

8. Super Electric (Stereolab)

9. Over And Over (Fleetwood Mac)

10. O Superheroin (Laurie Anderson – Lou Reed)

11. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (Klaatu)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!